Michael Kenna : Photography

::

“I feel that my work would be much closer to haiku poetry than full-length prose. I don’t need to describe everything that’s going on. I like to just suggest one or two elements and use those elements as catalysts for my own imagination, and hopefully for the viewers imagination.” Michael Kenna

::

::
Lace Factories, Study 21
Sepia toned print
Calais, France
1998
::

::
Lace Factories, Study 29
Sepia toned print
Calais, France
1998
::

::
Lace Factories, Study 8
Sepia toned print
Calais, France
1998
::

::
Twelve Hours Over Sea of Okhotsk
Wakkanai, Hokkaido
Japan
2004
::

::
Winter Seascape
Wakkanai, Hokkaido
Japan
2004
::

::
Fish Drying Racks
Wakkanai, Hokkaido
Japan
2004
::

“I prefer the power of suggestion over description. Photography, for me, is not about copying the world. I’m not really interested in making an accurate copy of what I see out there. I think one of photography’s strongest elements is its ability to record a part of the world, but also to integrate with the individual photographer’s aesthetic sense. The combined result is an interpretation – and the interpretation, I think, is what is interesting – when the subject goes through the filter of an individual human mind and emerges in a changed state – not the duplication or the recording of something.” [Extract : Interview with Michael Kenna : Lenswork October]

Hokkaido : Video

Half-Light : Video

Michael Kenna : Website

Michael Kenna : Wirtz Gallery

Leave a Reply

